Aerospace & Mechanical

AME Awards

Eyre Associates Award

For Outstanding Achievement in Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering

The Eyre Associates Award recognizes an AME student who has demonstrated outstanding academic excellence throughout their undergraduate academic career. This award honors the Eyre Associates' contributions over many years to the support and development of the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering.

Anton Schuetze-Coburn is the winner of the 2015 Eyre Associates Award.

John Laufer Memorial Prize

John Laufer founded the Aerospace part of the AME Dept. at USC in 1964 and was chairman of the Department for 19 years. He was an internationally known experimentalist in fluid mechanics and had an illustrious career at Cal Tech, NBS and JPL in addition to the many years spent at USC. He also was instrumental in developing the Senior Experimental Projects Laboratory, one of the most demanding courses in the AME curriculum. The John Laufer Memorial Prize was established in his honor to recognize the student(s) with the most outstanding project in the AME 441 Senior Experimental Projects Laboratory.

The 2015 Laufer Memorial Prize goes to Min Maung, Brandon Uchimura, Kevin Sakumoto, and Cody Sato for their project, Improved Surface Marker Buoy for Scuba Divers. The citation notes "... their diligent approach from start to finish, which included several design iterations guided by experimental test results and numerical modelling efforts."

Previous Laufer Prize winners...

Bleeker Award

For Craftsmanship

The 2015 Bleeker Award was wonn by Elia Zinetti, Yiteng (Sophie) Xu, Chan-Ye (Chris) Ohh, Amir Bagherkalantari with VAWT Performance Predictions Using a 2D Airfoil Database for their robust yet clean design of a Darrieus vertical axis wind turbine (VAWT) for use in the AME wind tunnel.

Al Bleeker was an enthusiastic, dedicated supporter of undergraduate experimental studies in AME. As a friend, technician and teacher, Al counseled over two generations of laboratory students. This award for excellence and imagination in the design and construction of experiments during the senior year laboratory course is presented by the faculty, students and friends of Aerospace Engineering as a tribute to Al's contribution.

Previous winners...

Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering Student Achievement Award

The Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering Student Achievement Award for 2015 has be won by two teams of AME 441 students:

  • Rayed Khan, Derek Nielsen, Chase Totoris, and Stefano Bauk with their Closed-loop Control for a Leading Edge Flap for their persistent data analysis efforts as well as their design and construction of a beautiful wing section, and
  • Chris Dougherty, Colin Hussey, and Ryan Miller with Novelty Flying Disc Launcher for their experimental efforts (rain or shine!), methodical mechanical design, and independence in carrying out their investigation.

Previous Student Achievement Award winners...

AME Excellence in Research Award

Recognizes outstanding research work by an AME Ph.D. student.

Alan Cheng Hou Tsang is the 2015 winner of the AME Excellence in Research Award.

Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring Award

Recognizes exceptional work by an AME teaching assistant.

Harshavardhan Mylapilli has won the 2015 Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring Award.

University Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Given to an exceptional teaching assistant selected from throughout the University.

AME Ph.D. student, Bo Cheng Jin, has been honored with this award for 2015.

Order of Areté

Recognizes graduate students demonstrating significant depth and scope of responsibility in a campus or community leadership role.

AME graduate students Francois Cadieux and Harsha Mylapilli were awarded the Order of Areté in 2015.